All children at OLPS are known and every child is important.

Our aim is to “develop independent and creative learners who are motivated to achieve their potential” Teachers, students and parents work closely together to achieve this goal. Our dedicated teachers go “above and beyond” and view teaching as a vocation. Teachers develop rigorous teaching and learning programs to advance each child’s achievement level in all areas of the curriculum.

The core literacy and numeracy skills are developed through the use of explicit teaching in the younger years. In our older year groups a combination of explicit instruction and student-centred learning is used to deepen thinking and build social competencies.   Constant professional learning is at the heart of good quality teaching and at OLPS we are committed to school improvement through the development of our teachers. In recent years, teachers have developed their knowledge and skills in Mathematics to embed a child centred investigative approach to engage and excite all students about Mathematics.

Our 2019 NAPLAN results in Mathematics were well above the state and on par with similar schools.

The school is organised into four stages of learning:

Early Stage One Kindergarten
Stage One Years 1 and 2
Stage Two Years 3 and 4
Stage Three Years 5 and 6

Key Learning Areas

There are seven Key Learning Areas which are addressed in the Catholic primary School Syllabus. These are:

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • Human Society and its Environment
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education
  • Creative Arts

All other Key Learning Areas follow the NSW Syllabus documents. In 2015, OLPS implemented the NSW Syllabus for the Australian Curriculum in English and Mathematics